What I ate – I had lunch at the Cleveland Vegan Cafe

Yesterday left me feeling the need for a soul-warming lunch. It was a Friday, in Cleveland, in February. You know. And if you don’t, it’s probably what you can imagine.

Whatever food prep I did for the week was exhausted, I had been fighting a cold, work deadlines were looming, so take out it was.

As a newly minted vegan, plant eater, whatever, it was only my second visit to the Cleveland Vegan Cafe in Lakewood, OH.  It’s not a quick drive from my office but it’s a worthy destination.  I do have other fail safe options that are close by, but they fail in comparison to this place when you need a quality fix.

I’ll save a review of the restaurant for another post, another day, with pictures.  The purpose in posts like this one is to share what I am eating as I continue my journey into the lifestyle of eating a plant based diet.  Here’s what I enjoyed off the menu:

  • Massaman Curry – a savory dish that warmed me to the core. A filling dish on its own.
  • Buffalo Cauliflower Dip – not ashamed to say I scarfed this on the drive back to my office. I don’t often keep a Rolodex of recipes but this is something I am determined to make at home.
  • Lemon Poppyseed Scone – I ate this waiting for my takeout because I am a grown man, making grown man decisions.

I was pretty full for the day after this, and it probably constituted a larger lunch than normal for me, but it was the medicine I needed. Later that day I noshed on some berries for dinner as I was still full.   That morning I had my usual: Ezekiel 4:9 sprouted grain toast with coconut oil and almond butter, Mushroom Coffee (yep), and two glasses of water with my vitamins (a multi, B12, and calcium).

If you want to learn more about me and the simple approach I am taking to adapt and sustain a plant based lifestyle check out my about page.

Thanks for reading and your comments are welcome below.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑