A Supplement Story

Once Upon A Time

There once there was a vegan who took supplements. It was a B12 vitamin. The end.

Ok well almost.

Many people ask me what I take to “ensure I am getting all my nutrients on a plant based diet”. After grumbling under my breath that I probably get more vitamins and nutrients eating plants than I would socking down a pound of disgusting meat a day, here’s what I tell them:

  • Multi-vitamin (currently I take this – disclaimer, not vegan. More on this below. Currently doing some research but think I will be switching to this)
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin D (I use a generic Heinens grocery store brand for both vitamins)
  • Probiotic (I use Garden of Life Brand but many others will do well. I like this particular product because of its quality and you don’t have to refrigerate them)

That’s it. No protein powder, no special shakes or juice cleanses, no omegas. Nothing. I don’t have the time or the room in my budget to be concerned with all that.

Notice a trend in my approach to keeping on a plat based diet? Simplicity.

Listen To Your Doctor

Of course if your doctor tells you to take X and Y. Listen to your doctor and take X and Y. If you live in a climate that sees as little sun as I do between September and May, then take a vitamin D. Worried about calcium I guess take a calcium supplement if you know you need it.

Just be self aware as to what you need. You have to do what is best for you, but don’t get sucked into thinking you all of a sudden need magic elixirs and meal replacement shakes just because you are now on a plant based diet.

Simple whole foods are your magic elixir! You are going down this path because it is healthier!

Know What’s Inside

If you are going the strict vegan path as I am attempting then you need to be aware that not all supplements are created equal.

I recently fell victim to good marketing and bought the men’s multi vitamin gummi by Smarty Pants. Cool bottle. Gummi. Awesome!

Not awesome because they contain Gelatin and Gelatin is not vegan. Since I hate the idea of being wasteful I will finish the bottle and buy Deva Vegan Vitamins Daily Multivitamin & Mineral Supplement. I’ve read great reviews and they seem to be a good deal at around $20 for 90 tablets.

Deciding What’s Best For You

Is a multi vitamin really worth it? I dunno. I’ve heard mixed reviews on the effectiveness based on quality, etc, etc. For me, the extra insurance makes me feel a little better. The same may be said for protein powders if you work out a lot or a supplement shake if you are truly concerned about getting your vitamins from a whole foods source. Just start with the simple and add what you feel works best for you!

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑